Reading “The Graveyard Book” by Neil Gaiman and “Looking for Alaska” by John Green

I was at the Manila International Book Fair yesterday and I bought a couple of books. Honestly, for a very long time, I thought I wouldn’t be able to finish a book. But here I was starting on the second book.

I have been very busy at work and just this week, I am going to attend an international conference here in Manila. It’s amazing how I have forgotten how fun it was to read books at all. I guess I just need to choose the right kind of books.

Although I’m in my midtwenties, I still enjoy books that are written for teenagers. Not the kind of angsty ones, I veer more toward those filled with adventure and probably magic.

This coming months, I probably going to obsess my self to Neil Gaiman from now on. The first book I bought yesterday was “The Graveyard Book” and it was surprisingly easy to read. The hero, Bod, was someone I could really relate to and is easy to like.

The friend that I was with insisted that  on “Looking for Alaska” by John Green, which I started reading this afternoon, immediately after I read the Graveyard Book. However, I have now read a quarter of the book but I am really bored. There wasn’t anything going on. I personally think the book was too self-absorbed. The author obviously felt like he needs to narrate everything that has been going on about the protagonist in a nearly day to day manner. One thing that I also didn’t like about the book is its POV character, Miles, who was also the hero of the book. He is smug and not very likable. Although it’s his story, I felt like he was almost an audience to more exciting characters. I’m enduring to read it though just to make up for the amount I paid for it.

 

Leave a Reply

